The Board

Under its governing legislation, the TCF is managed by a Board of up to six members who, collectively, have sole and absolute discretion to make grants for worthwhile community purposes. Board members are appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister. The Board has a legislative obligation to exercise reasonable care, act prudently and operate in an efficient, effective and economical manner. In addition, the Board has developed a Code of Conduct governing the operation of its members to ensure that its activities are conducted according to the highest standards.

The Code of Conduct is available on this website and is revised from time to time. Board members receive a fee, set by Cabinet, to acknowledge the responsible position they hold as trustees of a significant pool of public funding. Details are included in the financial statements. Members of the Board have a mixture of financial and community based experience, and reside across the state.

Photo of Sally Darke

Sally Darke - Chairperson

Sally is currently a Non-Executive Director of TasWater, TasPorts, Tasmanian Farmers & Graziers Association and past Chairperson of Scotch Oakburn College. She was formerly a Non-Executive Director, Chairperson and Advisor to the Board of B&E. She is also a Panel Member for the Tasmanian Local Government Code of Conduct Panel.

Sally was formerly a Director in the Advisory practice of KPMG where she has provided state-wide consultancy services for many not for profit, government and private organisations. As a human resource consultant her core business has been strategic planning, executive recruitment, governance training, organisation, board and CEO performance review. Sally is keen to “make a difference” in the Tasmanian marketplace and motivated by the opportunity to provide best practice governance for the Tasmanian Community Fund.

Photo of Frank Barta

Frank Barta

Frank is a Non-Executive Director of Huon Regional Care and is a member of the Hobart City Council Audit and Risk Panel. He was formerly Corporate Treasurer of Clarence City Council and a Non-Executive Director of Tasplan and a past board member of Quadrant Superannuation.  He has undertaken a range of voluntary roles including Treasurer of both Guilford College and St Cuthbert’s School and providing hands-on support for an orphanage and school in rural India.

Through his involvement in Local Government, Frank is experienced in assisting local groups achieve outcomes for the community and seeks to expand this support to the broader Tasmanian community.

Photo of Michelle Swallow6

Michelle Swallow

Michelle is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a graduate of the Tasmanian Leaders Program, has a Bachelor of Social Work, and studied at the London Business School in Negotiating and Influencing, and is currently Director of Leadership and Change Consultants Pty Ltd.

She has held a number of senior executive roles and has a background in leadership, advocacy and policy across health, VET, housing, community and capacity building in community, government and private sectors. Her directorships include a number of not for profits, and she is currently a director of TasTAFE and Chair of their Audit and Risk Management Committee and a committee member of Regional Development Australia Tasmania.

Photo of Andrew MacGregor

Andrew MacGregor

Andrew has been active participant in community organisations on the east coast of Tasmania for the past thirty years. He is a past Councillor, and Warden, of the Portland Council and a past Break O’Day Councillor. Andrew is a Life Member of the St Helens Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Inc and is the current Chair of Break O’Day Community Financial Services Inc (St Helens/St Marys Community Bank®). Andrew was the founding Chair of the Break O’Day Business Enterprise Centre and past Chair of Medea Park Residential Care Inc.

Outside of his community activities Andrew has been self-employed as a Registered Land Surveyor, Certified Practicing Planner and Project Facilitator practicing throughout Tasmania from his base at St Helens. He has also been a Company Director in a number of private development companies and the Chair of a national retail chain.


Alexander (Alex) McKenzie

Alex is a civil litigation and criminal defence lawyer in Burnie where he is employed as an Associate at McLean McKenzie & Topfer.  Alex is the President of the Tasmanian Council of Social Service (TasCOSS) and Chair of Ten Days.

Alex is also involved in a variety of other community organisations in north-west Tasmania and was formerly the President of the North West Young Lawyers Committee of the Law Society of Tasmania and was awarded the prize for being Tasmania’s Young Lawyer of the Year for 2017.